Recognising South Australia’s outstanding volunteers through highest honour

10 Apr 2019 newsmedia

South Australians are being encouraged to recognise our state’s outstanding volunteers, as nominations for the 2019 South Australian Volunteer Awards are now open.

Each year, three awards are presented to recognise the volunteering achievements of individuals, businesses and community projects from across the state for their outstanding service and contributions to our local community.

Minister for Human Services Michelle Lensink said the South Australian Volunteer Awards are the State Government’s way of acknowledging and appreciating the great accomplishments of volunteers.

“The impact volunteering provides across our state is priceless – South Australians volunteer about 1.73 million hours of their time every week,” said Minister Lensink.

“South Australia has one of the most dedicated volunteering communities in the country, boasting some of the highest volunteering rates in Australia, with more than 905,000 South Australians giving their time to volunteering."

“Volunteering can take many different forms, from helping others in emergencies, keeping our beaches safe, supporting a sporting club, delivering meals, or even helping your neighbour run errands.”

There are three award categories - the Joy Nobel Medal, which is the highest distinction for individual volunteers; the Premier’s Award for Corporate Social Responsibility, which acknowledges the invaluable contribution of SA businesses; and the Andamooka
Community Project Award, recognising volunteer projects.

“I strongly encourage people to nominate a deserving individual for the Joy Nobel medal, or a business or community group for an award – the highest honour for recognising volunteers in our state,” said Minister Lensink.

“It is important we all take the time to recognise and thank our volunteers for their outstanding contribution within our communities and nominating them for these prestigious awards is a great way to do that.”

The winners will be announced at a special Volunteers Thank You event in June, which South Australian volunteers will be invited to attend.

Winner of the 2017 Joy Noble Medal, Mike Brisco, manages SA’s not-for-profit Bikes for Refugees. Mr Brisco said it was “fantastic to be recognised for our community work”.

“The award has helped increase the donations of bikes so we can now meet demand,” he said.

“At first I was handling one or two bikes a week from my house, now Bikes for Refugees handles over 1,400 bikes each year to refugees from our Franklin Street business.” Nominations for the 2019 South Australian Volunteer Awards close at 5pm on Friday 26 April 2019. A panel of experts from the volunteering community will select the winners.

More information about the awards, including eligibility criteria and online nomination forms, are available at
The Marshall Liberal Government values the incredible dedication of volunteers and honoured its commitment to make volunteer screening fees free for all South Australians.

“I’d like to take the opportunity to again say thank you to all the hard-working volunteers across South Australia – your time, dedication and work is invaluable,” said Minister Lensink.