The Hon. J.S. LEE (14:41): My question is to the Minister for Human Services about the government's commitment to improving housing outcomes for Aboriginal people. Can the minister please provide an update to the council about the appointment of the new Aboriginal advisory committee to the South Australian Housing Authority?

The Hon. J.M.A. LENSINK (Minister for Human Services) (14:42): I thank the honourable member for her question. The South Australian Housing Trust board at its February meeting approved the formation of an Aboriginal advisory committee to be chaired by one of the board members, Ms Shona Reid. Ms Reid is a current member of the South Australian Housing Trust board and will liaise between the board and the new advisory committee.

The formation of the committee will establish an Aboriginal-led mechanism to advise and inform on a range of housing challenges and priorities across the South Australian housing system. The committee will also support a range of strategic priorities for the South Australian Housing Authority and will serve as a conduit for engagement with Aboriginal stakeholders.

The committee is going to support a range of strategic priorities for the authority and be a conduit for direct engagement with communities. It is also going to increase the authority's capacity in Aboriginal recruitment and retention; deliver strategic input into the housing and homelessness strategy; advise the board on the development of the Aboriginal housing strategy and facilitate community engagement; advise the board and provide support for the housing commitments within the South Australian Aboriginal affairs action plan; and provide specialist guidance on housing policy and services, with an emphasis on design, that meet the needs of Aboriginal South Australians.

I was very pleased, therefore, to announce on Thursday 9 May that the committee members had been appointed. As I have mentioned, Ms Shona Reid is the chairperson. The other members are: Dr Roger Thomas, who is the Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement; Ms April Lawrie, Commissioner for Aboriginal Children and Young People; Ms Olive Bennell of Anglicare; Ms Deb Moyle of the Red Cross; Ms Eunice Aston, who is a business owner; Mr Klynton Wanganeen, who is the CEO of the Narungga Nation Aboriginal Corporation; Mr Wayne Miller, CEO of Ceduna Aboriginal Corporation; Mr Zibeon Fielding of Nganampa Health; and Mr Kyran Dixon, who I think is not with Ernst and Young but was at the time of the appointment. I think he has a new position.

The committee met on Friday, I understand, and has had some very useful preliminary discussions. I look forward to receiving further advice from them as they continue to meet and discuss these important matters.