Dry Zone

23 Feb 2004 questionsarchive
A question put forward to the Hon. T.G. ROBERTS (Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation) in relation to the dry zone.

The Hon. J.M.A. LENSINK: I seek leave to make a brief explanation before asking the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, representing the Minister for Tourism, a question about the dry zone.

Leave granted.

The Hon. J.M.A. LENSINK: Recently on ABC radio the Minister for Tourism and member for Adelaide, the Hon. Jane Lomax-Smith, in opposition to the government’s decision announced on 12 February to re-open Barton Road, stated the following :

. . . (I) have to accept that if at the end of the day Cabinet and caucus make a decision. . . I toe the line. . . I can assure anyone in North Adelaide that my views haven’t changed on the matter. . . (It) doesn’t make any difference if I agree with 95 per cent of policy and support it [that is, the continuation of the closure] emotionally and personally. . .

Matthew Abraham made the following comment:

Your views are not much comfort to your voters if you can’t vote accordingly on the floor of the house.

In the past, the minister has also stated her opposition to the Victoria Square dry zone. My questions to the minister are:

1. Is the dry zone another one of the 5 per cent of issues with which the minister’s views differ from Labor Party policy?

2. Has the minister discussed the dry zone issue with members of the Social Inclusion Unit?

3. Has she had any ‘heated discussions’ with the Attorney-General (as she claims to have had regarding Barton Road), urging that the dry zone not be extended after 31 October this year?

4. Has she had any discussions, heated or otherwise, regarding this issue with any of her other Labor colleagues?

5. When will replies to questions asked in this place about Barton Road by the Hons Diana Laidlaw and Julian Stefani on 1 May 2003, and by me on 18 September 2003, be provided?

The Hon. T.G. ROBERTS (Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation): I will refer those questions to my colleague in another place and bring back a reply. Bear in mind that the Minister for Planning, Hon. Jay Weatherill, has the key responsibility for the dry zone.